After The Fall: How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again

     The book After The Fall: How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again was written and illustrated by Dan Santat and is for children aged 5-8. Humpty Dumpty liked to watch birds from his favourite ledge but one day he fell off. All the kings men put Humpty back together but then he became afraid of heights and was missing out on his favourite things. Humpty Dumpty decided to make planes. He made one that took a long time and was very good. He went to throw it but it flew over the wall, so Humpty went to climb the wall. He started to climb but the higher he got the more nervous he became. Eventually, Humpty Dumpty made it to the top and was no longer scared of heights. That is when he became a bird and flew away. The first connection I made was a text to self connection. Humpty was scared to go back and try again just like how I was scared to ride my bike again after I had a very bad crash. The second connection I made was a text to world connection. Humpty’s egg hatched and he became a bird, I have seen little eggs hatch and then out pops a baby bird. The third connection I made was a text to media connection. Humpty Dumpty eventually got back up again and overcome his fear of heights and there is a song called “I will get back up again”. The song is about getting back up again from having gone through something tough, just like Humpty did. All in all, I really loved the book After The Fall: How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again and I think that Dan Santat did a great job on creating an amazing picture book.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *